More often than not, eggs and dairy are grouped together under one umbrella. This has led many people to believe that eggs are a dairy product when they are not. Learn about the difference between eggs and dairy and why they shouldn’t be grouped together.
Though eggs and dairy products are sold in the same place in the supermarket, eggs are not dairy.
For anyone who is allergic to dairy or lactose intolerance, this is important to know.
Because eggs and dairy normally go hand in hand in baked goods, many people believe that you cannot eat eggs on a dairy-free diet. However, that couldn’t be further from the truth.
What Classifies As A Dairy Product?
Dairy products come from mammals that produce milk and foods made from milk (cheese, yogurt, ice cream etc).
Most commonly we use products made from cow milk however sheep and goat milk are becoming more popular.
Lactose intolerance is when a person no longer has the ability to break down lactose. Normally they begin to experience some digestive issues and feel better when switching to a dairy-free diet (learn more about the benefits of a dairy-free diet).
Lactose intolerance is not technically an allergy it is just the inability to break down the sugar in milk. A dairy allergy is an allergy to the proteins in dairy.
What Are Eggs?
Eggs are considered a by-product of birds; chickens, ducks, etc.
They are a complete protein, meaning that they contain all the essential amino acids you need on a daily basis. They’re also loaded with vitamins.
Some people have an egg allergy,meaning they are allergic to a protein within the egg.
Are Eggs Dairy?
No. Eggs are not considered a dairy product.
Though they are served in the dairy aisle in the grocery store and are a common allergen, eggs themselves do not classify as dairy.
Which means, if you have a dairy intolerance, you should be fine eating eggs.
Leave a Reply